Posted in 2010s, Category F, Female Protagonists, Male Author

Jojo no Kimyou na Bouken (Jojo’s Bizarre Adventrues): Golden Wind

Category F

jojo_part_5_1

There was only one named female character in this show.

  1. Are there two named female characters?
  2. Who have a conversation?
  3. Not about men?
  4. Does this happen frequently?
  5. Is the conversation non-trivial?

Part five is a solid Bechdel F, as there is only one important, named female character – Trish. Her mother was never important and there are no other women around. I considered counting Spice Girl as a female character, but I feel that she’s basically just a part of Trish.

I really liked Trish’s badass moments, but let’s face it. There were only two; her plane fight against Notorious B.I.G. and the team effort to get the arrow away from Diavolo. I was hoping for more development than that.

I did enjoy the extreme gayness of the entire anime, and I think Tiziano (VA Tsuda Kenjiro *squeal*) and Squalo (VA Maeno Tomoaki *squeal*) deserve a special shout out as my favourites. I guess Prosciutto and Pesci were also very gay and very gay for each other, but I can’t get over Pesci’s pineapple head…

Also, Okamoto Nobuhiko (Ghiaccio’s VA) did an amazing job as usual. Go listen to him. I could do it all day. KENN (Secco’s VA) also gave an interesting performance. I trust that I don’t even have to mention the unlimited sexiness that is Suwabe Junichi (Abacchio’s VA), but maybe I should mention that Yamashita Daiki (Narancia’s VA) is doing well for a relative newbie.

I was disappointed that they cast Diavolo as Konishi Katsuyuki. He’s not good at villain roles; and while Saito Souma did well as Doppio, he’s definitely a huge downgrade from Akira Ishida who plays Doppio in the games. All I can say though is, watch this anime anyway.


More data:

Author gender: M
No. of female protagonists/all protagonists: 1/7
Year of airing: 2018 – 2019

One thought on “Jojo no Kimyou na Bouken (Jojo’s Bizarre Adventrues): Golden Wind

Leave a comment